UACCB announces student awards

Posted Date - 4/20/22

The University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville (UACCB) announced the 2021-2022 Academic and Outstanding Student Award winners at a ceremony last night. Each year, UACCB recognizes students for their academic achievements and service to the college, the most distinguished is the Academic All-Star Award. Additionally, faculty and staff selected by the students are recognized for their support of student success during the academic year.  

Academic All-Star Award – The Academic All-Star Award recognizes the scholarly and service achievements of Arkansas’s two-year community college students. The Academic All-Star is recognized at the Arkansas Community Colleges Awards brunch in October and will receive a $500 scholarship provided by UACCB for the student’s final semester of attendance at the college. The student also receives a transfer scholarship to the Arkansas public 4-year university of their choice.

The 2021-2022 Academic All-Star is Samantha Wilson. Wilson, a nursing student, serves as a tutor for the Student Success Center and TRIO Support Services. She is involved in the Student Government Association and volunteers with various student organizations. She also assisted with organizing group sessions for mental health needs and is an advocate for mental health crisis response. She is a strong leader both in and out of the classroom.

Outstanding Service Award – The 2021-2022 Outstanding Service Award winner is Alesondria (Ally) Scales. Scales, a full-time nursing student, is an active volunteer for Help and Hope and NADC. She assists in the Adult Education Program and has been voted by her peers as the class representative for two semesters. 

Outstanding Leadership Award - The 2021-2022 Outstanding Leadership Award is Samantha Wilson. Wilson has been an active participant and shown great initiative on campus as demonstrated by her exceptional communication and leadership skills. She is known for her willingness to help and her positive outlook.

Academic Award Recipients:

Adult Education

QiuWei Chen – General Education Development

Jeremías Guerra – English as a Second Language

Division for Math and Sciences

Madison Ruffin – Math  

Estela Delgado – Math Special Achievement Award 

Jonathan Mhlanga – Science  

Division for Arts and Humanities

Lenoard Tripp – Arts and Humanities 

Division for Business, Technology, and Public Service

Jennifer Cano – Business 

Cody Ivy – Computer Technology     

James Wentz – Criminal Justice 

Amanda Voyles – Early Childhood    

Whitney Campbell – Cosmetology 

Division for Career and Technical Education

Caleb Hoffman – Industrial Technology

Allison Rolins – Agriculture Technology

The following students received appreciation awards for their service as Student Success Center Tutors: 

Randall Briesmeister

Hayden Crenshaw

Samantha Dickey

Natasha Hightower

Myles Hooper

Paula Summers

Faith Warner 

Morgan Wimberley

Samantha Wilson

Justine Yatska

Joe Young

The following students received appreciation awards for their service as TRIO Student Services Tutors:

Dustin Cannon

Hayden Crenshaw

Samantha Dickey

Samantha Wilson

Morgan Wimberley

Joe Young

Recipients of the TRIO Scholarships are:

Gracie Brewer

Jessica Burke

Lacey Butler

Jill Cook

Shelby Coombe

Gabriel Garcia

Kiara Mercedes Minick

Zachary Presser

Allison Rolins

Kurstin Skinner

Natalie St. Clair

Whitney Varnell

Weiyang Wang

Samantha Wilson

Summer Woods 

The following students were recognized for their service on the UACCB Student Government Association:

Yareli Estrada

Corey Fitzpatrick

Luna Moss

Samera Orrantia

Kurstin Skinner

Elizabeth Upton

Samantha Wilson

The following students received recognition as 2021–2022 Student Ambassadors:

Brianna Bass

Lidia Castillo

Hayden Crenshaw

Morgan Hill

Cassidy Holder

Elizabeth Poff

Aura Puckett

Kurstin Skinner

Student Choice Awards

Each year the UACCB student body selects four outstanding faculty and staff for their commitment and service to students. 

This year’s award winners are:

Justine Yatska – Outstanding Staff

Doug Muse – Outstanding Instructor 

Tina Goodman – Outstanding Academic Advisor 

Mickey Freeze – Outstanding Student Organization Advisor 


The University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville is a comprehensive two-year community college serving Independence County and the surrounding communities with both transfer and career-technical programs.  Students can complete their first two years of a bachelor’s degree affordably and close-to-home, then transfer virtually anywhere.  Students can also complete a credential in a variety of work-ready programs such as allied health, construction, welding, cosmetology, and more within a semester to one year.  For more information call (870) 612-2000 or visit

Apply Now
And Start Your UACCB Journey Today

Apply Now
Alert Message

/ year
/ year
/ year
Go To Top