Academic Advising

Academic Advising Center

The Advising Center is located in MCB 229 and is open Monday-Friday from 8am-5pm and evening appointments are available by request.  All students must meet with their assigned advisors each semester to have their advising holds lifted.  Please stop by or call 870-612-2160 to schedule an appointment. Appointments are recommended, not required.

Advisors

Polly Wood
870-612-2077
polly.wood@uaccb.edu

Katrina Farris
870-612-2163
katrina.farris@uaccb.edu

Charles Barnett
870-612-2095
charles.barnett@uaccb.edu

Brenda Bishop
870-612-2096
brenda.bishop@uaccb.edu

Erica Bledsoe
870-612-2076
erica.bledsoe@uaccb.edu

Jennifer Emery
870-612-2104
jennifer.emery@uaccb.edu
Beverly Meinzer
 

Van Taylor
870-612-2108
van.taylor@uaccb.edu

 

Advising Mission Statement

At UACCB, academic advising is a teaching and learning experience in which the advisor and student work together toward the development and completion of the student's academic goals.

Program Goals

  • Provide accurate and timely information regarding UACCB policies, procedures and educational requirements.
  • Teach students how to use campus technology including WebAdvisor and campus email. 
  • Advise on the selection of appropriate courses and other educational experiences.
  • Reinforce student role and responsibility in achieving goals.
  • Be knowledgeable about and make appropriate referrals to campus and community resources.
  • Continuously evaluate and monitor student academic progress.
  • Discuss and clarify educational, career and life goals and assist students in developing plans to meet those goals.

Student Learning Outcomes:

  • Develop an educational plan based on assessment of abilities, interests and values.
  • Use campus and community resources as needed to meet educational and life goals.
  • Assume responsibility for meeting academic program requirements.
  • Comfortably self-register for classes, create a degree plan, check campus email and use WebAdvisor regularly.